Independent School Awards 2016 :: Judges
2018 categories & criteria will be published here in May Open for entries from Friday 12 May until Friday 23 June 2017


Dr Jill Berry

The judging panel is chaired by Jill Berry. She is the former head of Dame Alice Harpur School and was president of the GSA in 2009. Since 2010 she has been studying for a professional doctorate in education, working for the National College for Teaching & Leadership and acting as an educational consultant.  
She has taught in a variety of schools, maintained and independent, comprehensive and selective, for thirty years, with English as her specialist subject

Anne Evans OBE

The executive president of HTI. She has wide-ranging experience of leadership and management in the public, private and voluntary sectors, in particular leading the NCTL Fellowship Commission for National Leaders in Education. 
Now retired, Anne chairs the North Cotswolds' branch of Marie Curie and devotes her time to fundraising for charities. As well as being a keen horticulturalist, she is leading a fundraising campaign to build and equip a classroom for environmental education within Batsford Arboretum, Gloucestershire.

Jeremy Herrtage

The former bursar of St Ives School, Haslemere. He is currently the clerk to the Worshipful Company of Gardeners of London. 
Educated at Harrow and Sandhurst, he worked in the City for five years before serving in the Army (14th/20th King’s Hussars and RAPC) for 20 years. He is a qualified chartered secretary. He has also served as an LEA governor at the Slade School, Tonbridge for five years.

Jeff Hynam

Bursar at Winchester College for the past ten years. Before that he was bursar at Roedean. 
He also taught for nineteen years in the maintained sector, including fifteen years running outdoor education centres. He has also been a bursar of a grant maintained school for four years. 

Deborah Leek-Bailey OBE

The former head of Babington House School and chair of the Cross Association Leadership Group of the National College. 
She is the former chair of the ISA and is currently a member of its Executive Council. She is the chair of the government-appointed ISSP forum and is a school inspector. She has taught in both the maintained and independent school sectors.  

Andrew Maiden 

The editor of Funding for Independent Schools and British International Schools. He also edits the Independent School Governor's Handbook. 
He was a governor of a school for four years (two as chair of the finance committee). He writes widely on school strategy and enterprise. 

Roger Peel 

Began his teaching career at a grammar school in Nottinghamshire. In 1987 he became head of Kimbolton School, before taking a career change as membership secretary of HMC in 2002. 
His portfolio included: the Inspection Steering Group, sports, junior schools, Conference and Common Room (HMC's magazine) and membership. 

Nick Rees 

Head of SEN at the International Schools Partnership. He is also a team inspector for the Independent Schools Inspectorate and an educational consultant, including for CReSTeD.
Prior to this, he was the principal at Fairley House School and a secretary for the Independent Schools Association. 

Christine Ryan

The chief inspector and CEO of the Independent Schools Inspectorate. 
A scientist with extensive teaching and inspection experience, Christine has had published a number of scientific and educational publications and has been an education advisor for schools television, including the series New Living Body, winner of the Japan Prize for Educational Excellence.

Nick Shryane

The bursar of the Harrow School Foundation (since September 1997). 
Until 2010, he had been a governor of Edge Grove Preparatory School for more than 10 years (the last five years as chairman). He has a particular interest in strategic, financial and resource planning.

Judith Sischy OBE

Started her career as a teacher of modern languages. Her last and main post was as chief executive and director of education for the Scottish Council of Independent Schools. She played a key role in Scottish education, holding appointments on the Scottish Qualifications Authority Advisory Board, the General Teaching Council for Scotland, the Government’s Curriculum for Excellence Management Board and similar bodies. 
She has been appointed a member of the Court of Queen Margaret University, of the Carnegie Trust for the Universities in Scotland, the Appointments Committee of the General Teaching Council for Scotland and as a public interest member of the Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants for Scotland. 

Malcolm St John-Smith 

Over 30 years' experience as both a teacher and housemaster in independent schools. 
He currently represents the Association of Teachers and Lecturers on the judging panel.